Skip to content

The History of Democracy in Indonesia

The History of Democracy in Indonesia

The history of democracy in Indonesia is a complex and multifaceted one, marked by periods of authoritarian rule, transitions, and challenges. Here is a detailed overview of Indonesia’s journey toward democracy:

Pre-Independence Era (Before 1945)

Prior to independence, Indonesia was under Dutch colonial rule for centuries. There was no democratic governance during this period, as the Dutch implemented a colonial administration.

Declaration of Independence (1945)

  • Indonesia declared its independence from Dutch colonial rule on August 17, 1945, following Japan’s surrender at the end of World War II.
  • The country adopted its first constitution, the “1945 Constitution,” which laid the foundation for Indonesia’s democratic aspirations.

Guided Democracy (1957 until 1965)

  • Under the leadership of President Sukarno, Indonesia practiced a system known as “Guided Democracy.”
  • While the 1945 Constitution upheld democratic principles, this period was characterized by centralized control and limited political freedoms.
  • In 1959, Sukarno dissolved the Constituent Assembly and established a “Working Cabinet,” effectively concentrating power in the executive branch.

Transition to the New Order (1965 until 1967)

  • The attempted coup in September 1965 led to a period of political upheaval and violence.
  • General Suharto emerged as the leader and, by 1967, had assumed control of the country.
  • This marked the beginning of the “New Order” era, characterized by authoritarian rule and a strong military presence.

Suharto’s Authoritarian Rule (1967 until 1998)

  • Suharto’s rule was marked by centralized authority, suppression of political dissent, and limitations on democratic freedoms.
  • Political parties were tightly controlled, and opposition was heavily suppressed.
  • The government promoted economic development, but it was accompanied by allegations of corruption and human rights abuses.

Reformasi and the Fall of Suharto (1998)

  • In 1998, a series of student-led protests and social unrest forced Suharto to step down after 32 years in power.
  • This period, known as “Reformasi,” marked the transition to a more democratic system.

Era of Democratization (Late 1990s until Present)

  • Indonesia embarked on a path of political and democratic reform after Suharto’s resignation.
  • Key milestones in this era include the adoption of a new constitution in 2002, which strengthened democratic principles, and the holding of free and fair elections.
  • Multiple political parties emerged, and Indonesia transitioned to a multi-party democracy.
  • Subsequent presidents, including Megawati Sukarnoputri, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, and Joko Widodo, were elected through democratic processes.

Challenges to Democracy

  • Despite significant progress, Indonesia has faced challenges to its democracy, including corruption, electoral fraud, and issues related to religious and ethnic tensions.
  • There have been concerns about the influence of money in politics and the role of oligarchs.

Current Democratic Landscape

  • Indonesia remains a democratic republic with regular elections for its presidency, legislature, and local governments.
  • Joko Widodo, commonly known as Jokowi, was the President, and he had been in office since 2014.
  • The country continued to grapple with issues related to political corruption, human rights, and regional autonomy.

Political developments can change rapidly, and for the most up-to-date information on Indonesia’s democracy, it’s advisable to consult recent news and scholarly sources.

You may also like...