Skip to content

The History of Fiji Presidency

The History of Fiji Presidency

Fiji is a republic with a President serving as the head of state. Please note that my information might be outdated, and I recommend checking more recent sources for the latest updates. As of my last update, Jioji Konrote was the President of Fiji.

Here is a general overview of the history of the presidency in Fiji

1970 – Independence

  • Fiji gained independence from British colonial rule on October 10, 1970.
  • Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara became the first Prime Minister and held office from 1970 to 1992.

1997 Constitution and Republic Status

  • In 1997, a new constitution was adopted, declaring Fiji a republic.
  • Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara was appointed as the first President of the Republic of Fiji in 1997.

2000 Coup and Constitutional Crisis

  • In 2000, Fiji experienced a coup d’├ętat led by George Speight, resulting in the temporary removal of the government.
  • Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara resigned, and Epeli Nailatikau was appointed as Acting President.

Post-2000 Period

  • The political situation in Fiji remained turbulent in the following years.
  • In 2009, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau was formally elected as President.

2013 Constitution and Elections

  • A new constitution was adopted in 2013, paving the way for democratic elections.
  • In the 2014 elections, Major-General Jioji Konrote was elected as the President of Fiji.

Recent Years

Jioji Konrote continued to serve as the President.

For the most current information on the history of the Fijian presidency, I recommend checking the latest sources or news updates.

Jioji Konrote was the President of Fiji. However, since my information is not up-to-date beyond that point, I recommend checking the latest sources for the most current information on Fiji’s presidency.

Here is a brief overview of the presidents of Fiji

Ratu Sir Penaia Ganilau (1970 until 1987)

  • Ratu Sir Penaia Ganilau served as the first President of Fiji after it gained independence in 1970.
  • He had a distinguished career in Fijian politics and served as the country’s Vice President before becoming President.
  • His presidency ended in 1987 when the Fijian military, led by Sitiveni Rabuka, staged a coup.

Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara (1997 until 2000)

  • Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara served as the first President of the Republic of Fiji under the 1997 constitution.
  • He had previously served as Prime Minister and was a key figure in Fijian politics.
  • His presidency was marked by the 2000 coup led by George Speight, and he resigned during the crisis.

Epeli Nailatikau (2009 until 2015)

  • Epeli Nailatikau was appointed as Acting President during the 2000 crisis and later served as the President from 2009 to 2015.
  • He had a military background and held various positions in the Fijian government.
  • His presidency saw efforts to restore stability and constitutional order after the 2006 coup.

Jioji Konrote (2015 until Present)

  • Jioji Konrote, a former military officer and diplomat, assumed the presidency in 2015.
  • Specific achievements and details of his presidency would require more recent information.

Achievements and details of each president’s tenure can vary, and the assessment of their contributions often depends on perspectives and historical contexts. Additionally, the role of the Fijian president is largely ceremonial, with executive power residing in the Prime Minister and the Parliament. For the most current and detailed information on the achievements of President Jioji Konrote and any subsequent presidents, I recommend consulting recent and reliable sources.

You may also like...