Skip to content

The History of Indonesia Presidency

The History of Indonesia Presidency

The presidency of Indonesia, officially known as the President of the Republic of Indonesia (Presiden Republik Indonesia), has a rich and complex history since the country’s declaration of independence in 1945. Here is a detailed overview of Indonesia’s presidential history, highlighting key presidents and their contributions:

Sukarno (1945 until 1967)

  • Sukarno was the first President of Indonesia and played a pivotal role in the country’s fight for independence from Dutch colonial rule.
  • He was a charismatic leader and the founder of the Indonesian Nationalist Party (PNI).
  • During his presidency, Indonesia adopted its first constitution in 1945 and established the Guided Democracy system.
  • Sukarno was known for his anti-imperialist stance and played a prominent role in the Non-Aligned Movement.
  • His presidency saw economic challenges and political turmoil, leading to his eventual removal from power.

Suharto (1967 until 1998)

  • Suharto assumed power after a period of political and economic instability in Indonesia.
  • He is known for his authoritarian rule and the New Order regime, which focused on political stability and economic development.
  • Suharto oversaw significant economic growth and industrialization during his presidency.
  • However, his rule was also marked by human rights abuses, political repression, and corruption allegations.
  • His presidency ended in 1998 amidst widespread protests and economic crisis, leading to his resignation.

B.J. Habibie (1998 until 1999)

  • Habibie served as Indonesia’s third president, taking office after Suharto’s resignation.
  • His presidency was short-lived, and he initiated political and economic reforms.
  • Habibie facilitated the 1999 referendum in East Timor, leading to its independence.
  • He played a crucial role in the transition to democracy in Indonesia.

Abdurrahman Wahid (1999 until 2001)

  • Wahid, also known as Gus Dur, was Indonesia’s first democratically-elected president.
  • He was a moderate Muslim leader and a key figure in the Nahdlatul Ulama organization.
  • His presidency faced challenges, including political instability and economic difficulties.
  • Wahid was impeached in 2001, and his vice president, Megawati Sukarnoputri, succeeded him.

Megawati Sukarnoputri (2001 until 2004)

  • Megawati was Indonesia’s first female president and the daughter of Sukarno.
  • Her presidency focused on stability and national unity.
  • During her term, Indonesia continued its transition to democracy and held democratic elections.
  • She was not re-elected in 2004, and Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono succeeded her.

Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (2004 until 2014)

  • Yudhoyono, often referred to as SBY, was a retired army general and the first president to be directly elected by the people.
  • His presidency saw economic growth and improved political stability.
  • Yudhoyono’s administration focused on reducing corruption and implementing democratic reforms.
  • He was re-elected in 2009 for a second term.

Joko Widodo (2014 until present)

  • Commonly known as Jokowi, he is Indonesia’s seventh president and the first from outside the political and military elite.
  • Jokowi has prioritized infrastructure development, economic growth, and social welfare programs.
  • His presidency has also faced challenges such as environmental issues, regional tensions, and the COVID-19 pandemic.

You may also like...